WCCC Takes on Sea Otter by Megan Bradley

The circuit race was held at the Laguna Seca Raceway, which is at the heart of the Sea Otter festivities. The course also offered a challenging climb for racers. Maddy Ward (UCLA), who has been having an outstanding season in the Women’s A took first place for the circuit race. Claire Anderson won the Women’s B. Alyssa Walter (UCSB) took the top spot for the Women’s C. UC Davis also had a great weekend with Sam Quinby winning Men’s A, Johnray Fernandez winning Men’s C and Jacob Lin Davis earning 3rd in Men’s C. The second place finisher for Men’s C was Paul Nguyen (UC Irvine). The Men’s B circuit was won by James Kinney (Claremont Unv. Consortium). For the Men’s D, Edwin Park (Stanford) earned first with Josh Gieschen (Cal Poly SLO) just behind as well as teammate Erik Snyder.

Sunday’s road race took place at Fort Ord and Maddy Ward won the Women’s A followed by Katie Quinn (Stanford) and Makenzie DeLaughder (Sac State). Yelyzaveta Tashkevych (UCSB) won the Women’s B. The Women’s C podium consisted of Juliet Daniel (Stanford) in first, Rachel Baarda (UC Davis) in second and Alyssa Walter (UCSB) in third.

Scott Cohen (UC Davis) out sprinted Menso deYoung (UCSB) for the win, with Sam Quinby (UC Davis) in third. Claremont University Consortium’s James Kinney won the Men’s B and UC Berkeley’s Eric Dasmalchi and Jason Tang placed 2nd and 3rd, respectively. Jason and Eric “were part of a group that got away early on. Spending 40 miles in the break-away was hard work, but the result certainly made it worth it,” said Jason. Eric explained that, “it took alot of physical and mental endurance to hang on for 6 laps with a steep climb and brutal headwind stretch.” Also a UC Berkeley racer, Ted Cross won the Men’s C race. Josh Gieschen (Cal Poly SLO) took first place in the Men’s D. Good luck to the WCCC teams racing at Nationals!


Popular Posts